Joy of challenges and a new recipe: Blackberry Tea Cakes

Alright so it has been a full month since I last posted and although life has thrown me many curve balls it is still a joy as I am still here. My diabeties went crazy and have added long lasting insulin to my meds but with that came a massive rollercoaster till we dropped one oral med and split the injections. I have been adjusting to the mental aspects of being dependant on all the meds that I am and for the most part think I am doing well with it. I then went and knocked off my yearly eye exam and now that I am turning 40, I get to not only add glasses but bi-focals oh the joys of living life and getting older. Today is the first full day of wearing my new glasses and I feel off but know there are many reason for this. I will adjust and will be better for it in the end. I am waiting to see how all the heart stuff comes back but that too will be dealt with as it comes. I have been tracking what I eat normally and am mostly pleased with the results. I need to increase my calories though as they are to low and I think that may be why I have been having a harder time with getting the weight to come off as I have held mostly steady now for longer than normal. My Cholesterol is well with in the limits set for heart health of 200mg or lower as I average 136mg per day. My Carbs are amazing as is my protein levels. All in all I am pretty please with myself as I keep this all up while still eating fantasticly well. Anyway life is still a joy and now to share a new recipe:

Blackberry Tea Cakes:  This makes about 24 so adjust smaller or larger for your needs

869 g (about 5-1/2 C) Brown Rice Flour (I like superfine as it is smoother but regular will work as well)

380 g (about 3 mounded C) Oat Flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1-1/2 teaspoon sea salt

2 C oil (I like olive)

2 C sugar

2 C low fat milk

2 C Berries

Turbinado Sugar for sprinkling the tops

1) In a stand mixer blend the oil and 2 C sugar until well blended.

2) In a separate bowl mix all other dry ingredients together

3) With stand mixer running on low slowly add dry mixture and milk alternately till thoughly mixed (about 3 to 5 minutes)

4) Cover and set in fridge minumum 3 hours or up to 24 hours

5) When ready to bake, preheat oven to 360 degrees F

6) On a greesed or parchment lined baking sheet place palm sized balls of dough then lightly flatten and place 4 to 5 berries pressed into the top of each cake and sprinkle with a little turbinado sugar

7) Bake till golden brown and firm to the touch about 30 minutes

Leave a Reply

