Orange Peach Scones

I love scones and I really started to get a feeling of longing for this simple baked good way back when in the late 1990’s when I was diagnosed with diabetes an was told to drop my carbs to not more that 75g per day. I then would “fudge” about once a month and exceed this just to have a really good scone. My sugars seemed to be fine with it but I did not want to push my luck. Then I started having more and more issues with wheat and then all things with gluten. I started to get down emotionally that I might never be able to have these again. Since then I have learned a bit about baking without and have turned making a good scone into a personal challenge. I have created and adapted many recipies for scones now and this is one of my favorites. I make these a couple times a year when I am starting to long for fresh peaches but have to wait or substitue with dried (you can use apricots as well). In using nut flour in this there is a lower glycemic index and no gluten. There is also a much higher amount of many vitamins and menerals such as potassium, magnesium, niacin, calcium, and iron. I also choose to sweeten with honey although if you wanted to lower your glycemic index further you could use agave nectar instead. I recomend using the best quality of ingredients that you can afford as your body will be greatful as well as our planet in the long run.

336 g (3 cups) nut flour (I use hazelnut in this one but almond will work great as well)

1/4 teaspoon sea salt

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 heaping teaspoon cinnamon (I really like the Penzy’s blend)

1/4 heaping teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 C oil (I like olive but grapeseed would be great as well)

3 TBSP honey

3 large eggs

1/2 C dried peaches, chopped into 1/4-inch pieces (or apricots)

1/4 C fresh squeezed orange juice

1 TBSP orange Zest

1) preheat your oven to 350` F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

2) place oil through orange zest in a blender and let sit while mixing dry ingredients (this will help soften the dried fruit before blending)

3) In a mixing bowl mix all dry ingredents together

4) Blend your moist items on high for about 1 minute, or until smooth.

5) Stir the wet ingredients into the flour mixture until thoroughly combined.

6) Drop by rounded scoops of about 1/4 C spaced about 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheet.

7) Bake for about 12- 15 minutes, until golden and a toothpick inseted into the center of a scone comes out clean.

8) let cook then serve.

***I enjoy putting a small dolup of homemade vanilla custard yogurt on mine if I am having a sweet tooth moment

These have a great crumb, are fast and easy to make and have truely very few ingredients. These are also great cold or even a few days old as long as you keep them in a sealed container once they cool.

Leave a Reply

