Gluten Free Pumpkin Muffn Owls

 

 

Today’s blog really is because of many people. Friday while
skimming through Facebook I saw a post to Relish Magazine by Maggie Mefford
Watte
showing the most adorable owl muffins. I knew that my 17 year old
daughter Alexandria would LOVE to make these. The challenge was to make it
gluten free and yet something everyone would want to eat. I wanted these
muffins to be pumpkin spice, made with almond flour, and to have an amazing
crumb. I found one that seemed to fit the bill at Paleoplan.com although I knew
I was going to do a few adjustments beyond multiplying by 4 as I wanted 2 dozen
muffins instead of the 6 the original would make.

To make 6 muffins:

1½ cups almond flour

3/4 cup  canned
pumpkin (or cook and puree pumpkin yourself)

3 large eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

½ tsp  ground cinnamon
(I doubled this)

1½ tsp pumpkin pie spice (I really recommend making your own
as I like to add lots of nutmeg)

1/8 tsp sea salt (I used this amount total for 2 doz)

1/4 cup raw honey ((optional) We did not use)

2 tsp almond butter

 

1.Preheat oven to 350℉. (we bumped the temp to 375
because I did not want a custard consistency but do what feels right for your
oven.)

2.Coat 6 muffin tins with coconut oil (or use paper muffin
cups and add 1/2 tsp melted coconut oil to batter). (we just put liner paper in
and did NOT add the extra fat as it really did not need it)

3.Mix all ingredients and pour evenly into tins.

4.Bake for 25 minutes on the middle rack.

5. Once the muffins were cool we made a very simple cream
cheese frosting where we whipped cream cheese and about 1 teaspoon honey to the
brick till it was just right. If the frosting is to thick just add a small
splash of whipping cream

6. Cover the muffins with frosting, add butter rum candies topped
with a smidge of frosting and a chocolate chip (we did half with Dagoba dark
chocolate and the other half with ghirardelli milk chocolate), add sliced
almonds for the fluff f and finish off with a cashew for the beak.

 

Leave a Reply

