Emergency trip to Seattle Washington

Saturday was going to be “get a lot of work done day” for me. I have tons of things that have to get done or else and so I scheduled 6 hours worth of work time over the course of the weekend. This seemed like a great idea even if I really just wanted to take the weekend and play with my husband and family. Life on the other hand seemed to have had other plans for me and that is alright. When I sat down to my trusty new computer, I received a call from my ex-husband needing help. Him, his wife, and their three children where going to Seattle (from Portland) to visit an old friend of his wife’s, that was working at a writers conference close enough to home that they could make time to see each other. They had not had this kind of a change in about 20 years so all plans were made and the trip begun. The sights we nice and they were enjoying a nice casual journey at 70 miles per hour when out of the blue a wheel went flying and all came to a frightful stop. They tried calling a friend that lives in that area but alas there was no answer so knowing that I would be home they call me and my husband to see if anyone here could drive to the rescue. Once we were off the phone, I loaded the cooler with healthy snacks and off we went. We passed a silly shop called the “Mattress Barn” and chuckled at all the animal cut-outs, lots of poor soles that made the wrong choice and where keeping the local law busy with pull-overs, and the occasional pretty natural view as we made our way to BFE Washington. When we realized how close it was to Seattle we offered to finish the trip and hangout there for the remainder of the day so the original visit could be obtained. I have never gone to Seattle just to hang out so it was a fun adventure.

The first stop was at the Space Needle. I have a huge fear of heights but I am working on getting this fear to a manageable level. With this in mind, we went to the top and I actually went out on the viewing deck, walked all the way around on the outside edge, and even took several pictures. I wish I had a better lens on my camera for the distance but I am still really happy that I did this. Oh and a really cool thing that I saw while way up high was one of the local parking garages has a raised bed community garden!!!

 

IMG_0656 IMG_0657 IMG_0658 IMG_0659 IMG_0660 IMG_0663 IMG_0662 IMG_0661 IMG_0660

 

After we came down from the top we wandered over to the Pike Street Market even though most of the stalls were closing as we got there late in the day. I really wanted a Starbucks coffee and when we were there we saw this fantastic coffee bean Hog above the door!

IMG_0664

It was past supper time and I knew that we would not get back to Portland area till way late so we stopped and had a wonderful dinner at the Crabhouse:

IMG_0668 IMG_0667 IMG_0666 IMG_0665

Leave a Reply

