Paleo/ Autoimmune friendly Menu for the week of 12/22/2014

I have been savoring the Paleo lifestyle for awhile now and although I slip and slide down the past on occasion, I find I seem to always feel better and have far superior control of my diabetes when I stay true to coarse. This past few months I have been very far afield with my food, physical movement plan, spiritual work, and pretty much everything else you can imagine. My stress went through the roof with a drastic move, remodel, and state governed career changes. When my stress went crazy, the rest of my life went well off track in a monster truck so to speak. I ran out of time to meditate, cook proper meals (heck shopping was spotty so how was I to cook well?), go for my daily walks or lift heavy things. I have been lax on remembering to take my diabetes medications and taking care of me went to the sidelines for far to long. I normally do not have a bump in the road that lasts this long and I am now paying to price on many fronts. With this all in mind, I am making an effort to get my rear in gear and get back on track. I have thought about ditching my coffee in the morning during this time and although I know it would probably be wise for me to do so, I have decided that I get to have a cup on days I do not work. The days that I have daycare children, I will limit myself to tea and see what the differences in my energy, mood, and sugar levels are before I decided one way or the other on if I really need to give up this simple pleasure more or not.

I have long time friends in town staying with me this week and with that took the time to make a menu outline. I am back to Paleo meals (no grains, legumes, limited dairy) as well as little to no fruit. My guests are also limited to no pit fruit (latex allergy), eggs, or shellfish, limited nightshade family and milder spices. I will also have another friend stopping buy on occasion that has violent reactions to pork so that will have to be served on days he is not over. This seems like a very limiting list for food options but I find it a fun challenge to see what I can come up with that will satisfy all.

I know that I have a tendency to forget to take photos of what I eat mostly because I am so in the moment of joy that taking the step back to take a picture slips my mind. I am posting my menu outline today knowing that I adjust often due to schedule and my mood. My outline does not give a great idea of the seasonings I will use but I will post those as the week progresses. If you have any questions please leave a comment and I will reply within the week.

Monday:

Breakfast: herb beef patties, eggs for those that can have them, and asparagus

Lunch: Chicken Caesar Salad

Dinner: Moroccan Lamb Stew

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Garlic Herb Chicken, Rainbow Chard

Lunch: Meatloaf, tossed green salad

Dinner: Fish, Salad, Broccoli

Wednesday:

Breakfast: Mediterranean Salmon Salad

Lunch: Chicken & Dumpling Stew

Dinner: Grilled Pork, Mashed spuds, Green Beans with bacon

Thursday:

Breakfast: Pork Patties, eggs for those that can have, Brussels sprouts with bacon

Lunch: Teared Ahi Tuna salad

Dinner: Egg drop soup, paleo potstickers, fried “rice”, lemon grass chicken

Friday:

Breakfast: Steak, mushrooms, asparagus

Lunch: Leftovers

Dinner: Sausages & Kraut

Saturday:

Breakfast: Bacon quiche (for those that can have), toast, fruit bowl

Lunch: Vegetable soup, anti pasta plater

Dinner: Roast, carrots, cabbage, salad

Sunday:

Brunch: Pancakes, bacon, eggs for those that can have

Dinner: Tandoori chicken, curry “rice”, sliced cucumbers

As you can see I like a lot of variety in my menu and I make enough items per meal to satisfy all while keeping in mind that this will be feeding my normal household of 7 plus a minimum of 3 extras each round. I normally also list a snack for each day but with my not having daycare at all this week and it being the holidays, I am just not going to make that option be filled in and will rather have enough healthy options to grab and go if needed. My one concern is if I will have enough left overs for Friday lunch. If I do not, I will pull a rabbit out of my hat I am sure so check back to see how this pans out.

Leave a Reply

