Tuesday 12/23/2014

This day seems to be much better than yesterday. I got up at a reasonable time for a day off especially knowing that I went to bed last night at 2am. I was fortunate to have time to sip on my morning coffee and catch up with my husband that got home from work a little before (he works graveyard shift). He learned that he will have Christmas off but will have to work the weekend instead. I am glad he will have a few days off and knows enough in advance that he can adjust his sleep but sad that yet another weekend will be spent working. I had scheduled to have three full meals today but realized that no one was going to be awake early enough to bother. I elected to drop the meatloaf and salad that I had planned for lunch and just go with Chard and leftover meats for a nice hearty brunch instead.

Brunch:I heated my large cast iron skillet on medium with a couple cubes of pasture raised local butter and a large dollup of fresh minced garlic while cleaning and slicing fresh local, organic rainbow chard after cutting out the heavy ribbing that tends to make the chard more bitter. I then sauteed the chard in the butter till crisp but tender. I also pulled the last of the leftover ham out to add to the plate chilled. For me I had a half cup chard and 3 oz of the ham along with the last of my cup of coffee. I hope this is a good start to lowering my sugar levels (they were much lower than Monday but still have a long way to go before I am happy with them). I recommend eating the best quality that your budget can afford and staying as local as you can to support your economy and assist the environment in decreasing the use of fossil fuels for your food.

IMG_2186 IMG_2187

While waiting for breakfast to cook, I started getting dinner going so it would have enough time to slow cook through the day and I do not have to worry about most of the meal. We were going to have a Moroccan Lamb stew yesterday but as you know, that did not happen. Today it is kind of happening with mild changes made due to my mood. I took a red onion and a yellow onion that I then diced and sauteed in my large dutch oven with avocado oil and garlic till translucent where I then added 4# cubed lamb that then got browned. To the pot I added a can of coconut milk, cumin seed, cinnamon, hot curry powder, turmeric, pepper, a tiny pinch of salt, coriander, smoked paprika, and fresh flat leaf parsley. I brought the whole pot to a low boil then covered and let simmer for 20 minutes before moving the whole lot into my wonderbag for slow cooking. I really LOVE this contraption in I am saving utilities, money, environment, etc and I do not have to worry about the power going out in a storm for me meal to finish cooking.

IMG_2188 IMG_2189 IMG_2190

I then took advantage of the fact that most of the house was still in bed and started catching up on my blogging and news reading on health and fitness issues that had been stacking up that I really wanted to read while my husband took the mettle recycling in to get off this property. I keep waiting for the point where we only have our stuff here and the property is in good shape.

My friend and I went and did some errands and then it was time for dinner. I added cauli-rice that I cooked with avocado oil and sweet curry powder that the lamb was ladled onto and a side of sauteed Asparagus finished off the meal to perfection.

IMG_2191

One thought on “Tuesday 12/23/2014”

  1. LOVE the use you get from your Wonderbag. Glad you’re writing again, you’re an inspiration to these old lazy bones!
    Cheers & Happy Holidays – Athena & Scott

Leave a Reply

