Thursday 12/25/2014

Today has been very mellow. I started off with the young ones out of town and the one guest that is here and my husband still asleep till the afternoon. I decided to take full advantage of this and try to plan out a few months worth of work for Daycare activities, Entwined Vines Jewelry, and my Close to my Heart business including; social media, blogs, and active work. I am pretty please with where I got these before settling in for quiet time for myself till the rest of the house woke from their slumbers. With the other two sleeping later and knowing what was in the fridge, I elected to do leftovers for brunch and make a much more hearty dinner. I considered making a meal that would be elaborate and time consuming but yielded to my “be a loaf” plan for today and went with a fast yet hardy meal. I really did not do much else so this post is going to be very short and to the point with food being the goal.

Super Fast and Easy Paleo friendly pasta with Chicken and Broccoli:

IMG_2200I used; minced garlic, leeks, chicken, duck fat, broccoli, mushrooms, grain free pasta, heavy cream, and roasted garlic powder in a wok and had from start to finish, counting slicing time, dinner was ready in the time it took 2-1/2 songs play on Pandora.

In a hot wok, I put a dollop of fat (I had duck fat handy so used this), and enough protein (whole or diced does not really matter) for the number of people serving. Tonight I cubed 1 chicken thigh per person. Cook till lightly browned. About 2 minutes.

IMG_2195Now add garlic, leeks or onions, and vegetables of your choice. Tonight I elected to have 3 small brown mushrooms sliced and about 1/2 cup of broccoli per person. IMG_2196Cook this while stirring often till almost cooked (I like my vegetables hot but very firm). About 1 minute more

IMG_2198Now you can turn the wok of and serve at this point if you want a very light meal. Tonight I was after rich decadence and a higher level of carbohydrates as it is a holiday and I was in the mood to splurge. I had a few packages of Cappellos Fettuccine in the fridge so I added enough for everyone that was here for the meal.IMG_2197 This is a grain free pasta that is fresh so cook time is under a minute (how fantastic is that???). I layered the pasta on top and let steam with the lid on for about 30 seconds before tossing with the rest of the goodies.

IMG_2199I then drizzled some heavy cream over the whole works, tossed, and covered for another 20 seconds or so just to get the cream hot and finish the pasta. I then tossed and again and served. Simple yet wow to the taste buds without risk to allergies. What a great meal for a treat if I say so myself. What is your favorite fast treat meal?

IMG_2201Post in the comments questions, comment, idea, menu, and or recipe please.

Leave a Reply

